Cheddar Cheese Bread

Image

For the record, I’d like this Cheddar Cheese Bread to also be known as cheesy-buttery-bread-goodness. It’s like bread taken to the next level with flecks of cheese woven throughout and a slightly crisp crust. I should know, I ate nearly half a loaf all by myself…

YOLO. 

(YOLO is such a cheesy phrase, I thought it was appropriate for my cheese bread post)

Cheddar Cheese Bread
via Shutterbean

  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3 tbsp butter 
  • 5 ounces sharp orange cheddar, shredded
  • 1 3/4 cups buttermilk 

Preheat yo’ oven to 400 degrees. Grease 2 loaf pans. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, salt, and baking soda. Add 2 tbsp butter in to the mix with your fingers (it will be a little pebbly but do your best!). Add the cheese, tossing to coat. Add the buttermilk. Stir until dough just comes together (I added a couple more splashes of buttermilk since mine had a little difficulty). Divide your dough between the plans and smooth the tops. 

Cut a shallow cross across the tops of the loaves. Thinly slice the remaining tablespoon of butter and place the butter in the cuts. Bake 22-26 minutes. The top will be browned, your house will smell like butter and cheese, and the tester inserted in the center comes out clean. 

Now wait the longest you’ve ever waited, 30 minutes, to let the bread cool in the pan before slicing. 

Insert slices into face. 

Note: My recipe testing companion, Jayme, suggested adding jalapenos or green chilis. I think I might try sprinkling jalapeno slices across the top the next time I make this cheesy-buttery-bread-goodness. 

Sincerely, 
Erin 

One thought on “Cheddar Cheese Bread

  1. I love lists, Friday – Shutterbean

Leave a Reply

