The complicatedly easy dish, Risotto!

Years and years ago I tried risotto for the very first time not knowing what nor understanding why it took so long to prepare. It was a server in a  trendy Seattle restaurant that tried to explain both these things to me, yet I continued to be totally flabbergasted that the lead time was 45 minutes for this dish. Forty-five minutes?!? I really only ordered it to see if it was really worth it.

After that first bite, I still didn’t understand why it took so long but I fully comprehended why it was worth waiting for.

And trust me, this one is worth waiting for as well!

Leek and Garlic Risotto
Inspired by: EmmyCooks

– 1 1/2c Arborio rice
– 6c broth (I used chicken but you can use any you like. Try to find the low-sodium!)
– 2-3 leeks (finely chopped and clean)
– 2-3 cloves of garlic
– 2 tbsp of butter
– 1c white wine (plus more for the cook)
Bring broth to a simmer in a small pot. In a sauté pan melt a tbspn of butter. Add garlic and leeks. Saute for a couple of minutes until it starts to soften. Add 1/2c white wine. Simmer on medium heat until soft. The liquid for me was almost evaporated at this step. Season and remove from heat (I actually removed contents from pan so I could reuse it).

In a clean pan, melt last tbspn of butter over med heat. Add in rice. When it starts smelling “nutty,” add 1/2c wine until liquid absorbed. Then add a ladle of stock, stirring occasionally until rice absorbs the liquid. Then add another, repeating these steps until the rice is cooked to aldente. This should come pretty close to when you are out of stock (around 15-20minutes).  The key here is to add about the same amount of liquid every round and keep your pan at the same relative temperature (Remember: your stock should be simmering!). If at the end of your stock your rice is not yet cooked, use simmering water until cooked.

Now, about your beautifully sweet leeks… you could add them at the end, after your risotto has finished cooking. This would make your risotto predominantly leeky. You could also add them in the beginning, and it would make your dish very mildly leeky. I decided to add mine somewhere in the middle, so the leeks were jusssst right. You choose your leeky-ness. And make sure to giggle as much as you like for the word “leek-y.”

Tip: Pick a white wine that you like the key notes! I picked a Chardonay that tasted citrusy and just a little butter-y to me. This made my risotto taste like lemon! It was a pleasant surprise to me, but I imagine that if I didn’t like that flavor it would not have been as pleasant.

Now, I added seafood to the top of mine so I didn’t add dairy but after your awesome risotto is cooked you could add: 1c grated Parmesan and ¼c chopped parsley.

Season with S&P to your liking.

And serve with the remaining wine! Or just open another bottle.

You know how I do 🙂
Erin

Leave a Reply

