I heart brown butter.

Brown butter is one of those delicious things I happened upon by accident… a muffin recipe that called for melted butter and I accidentally browned it when I walked away to change my Pandora station. And then I used it because I really wanted a muffin and had no more butter.

And now, I purposefully brown butter like nobody’s business.
If you don’t know about brown butter, I suggest you make it a priority. Try this recipe – it has oatmeal so it’s (almost) healthy!

BrownButterOatmealCookie

Brown Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
Adapted from TipTopShape

  • 1/2c Unsalted Butter
  • 1/2c Granulated Sugar
  • 1/2c Brown Sugar
  • 1 Large Egg
  • 2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1c Flour
  • 3/4c Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 cup Chocolate Chips (mix of dark & mild chocolate)

Directions

Brown yo butter in a small sauce pan. Keep an eye on it or it will burn! Once browned, set aside to cool completely.

In large bowl, Add sugars to cooled butter. Mix in egg and vanilla. Add salt, baking powder, and cinnamon mixing thoroughly. Mix in flour. Mix in Oats. Fold in Chocolate Chips.

Chill in refrigerator for 30 minutes. Try not to eat too much cookie dough while waiting.

Preheat oven to 350 Degrees. Form dough into 1 1/2 Inch balls and place on prepped baking sheet. Bake 10-14 minutes, or until the edges are slightly browned, the middle is set, and your home smells like cinnamon and chocolate.

Hope you enjoy.
Try not to burn your mouth like I did 😉

Erin

Leave a Reply

