Community

“Bye, talk soon.”
“Def. Later!”
Click.

Do you know the feeling of getting off the phone (or Skype, Facetime, GVoice, etc.) with someone you had a really great conversation with? For me, it feels like my heart smiles.

It begs the question, if it feels so great, why don’t I do it more?

And here comes my internal list of excuses…
Because I’m SO busy with work.
Because my friends live in other time zones.
Because it’s too late to call.
Because they are probably busy.
Because I have nothing to say.
Because blah, blah, blah.

These are all dumb excuses BECAUSE if something as simple as talking to friend makes you feel good, why wouldn’t you do it more?

So, I’ve decided that for the month of March I will focus on the community around me. I will be trying to visit with and/or talk to as many people as I can. It’s time for me to put all my excuses aside and prove once and for all how important community is to me. I am striving to connect more with those around me on a more frequent basis. It’s to make my heart smile a little more more.

Since it can be difficult to hold yourself to a goal of “Focus on your community,” I have devised a four point process to hold myself accountable to my intentions. The goals that I have set accomplish to prove that no matter how busy you are, it’s still important to interact with those around you.

Weekly:
1x In person
2x Phone a friend
3x Mail
4 x Online

Wholly moly! Do I even know this many people?

Well, its the month to find out!

See/Talk/Write/Blog soon!

Sincerely,
Erin

One thought on “Community

Leave a Reply

